Burn survivor, firefighter supports home fire sprinklers in MA

Vodpod videos no longer available.

Phil Tammaro, posted with vodpod

After speaking at last week’s press conference to support the requirement of home fire sprinklers in building codes, Phoenix Society advocate and burn survivor Phil Tammaro joined FOX 25 (My FOX Boston) this week to further discuss the life-saving measure.

“When I was two years old, I was burned over 35 percent of my body, said Tammaro, a coordinator for the International Association of Fire Fighters Burn Foundation. “From that, I can speak first hand to the devastating effects on me growing up and as an adult, the effects on my family, and costs associated with everything that goes along with that.

“Burn injuries are a life long injury, they don’t go away. I was burned when I was two years old, and I’m still dealing with the effects of it.”

Beyond his advocacy work, Phil is also active in the Phoenix Society’s SOAR (Survivors Offering Assistance in Recovery) program, while serving as a firefighter for Billerica, MA.

More information on how you can add your voice to the code issue in Massachusetts, visit: www.firesprinklersma.org.

Leave a Reply

