Phoenix Education Grant Recipient Pursuing Her Career in Physical Therapy

Rachel Anderson

Focus: Physical Therapy

Rachel’s experience overcoming adversity inspired her to pursue a career helping others do the same.

Rachel Anderson, burn survivor and PEG Scholarship recipient is focused on helping others overcome adversity.

Rachel Anderson, burn survivor and PEG Scholarship recipient is focused on helping others overcome adversity.

She received an educational grant from the Phoenix Society for Burn Survivors. AlloSource pledged an annual contribution to the Phoenix Society for Burn Survivors over 10 years to provide education grants for students like Rachel. She is a freshman at Lebanon Valley College in Annville, Pennsylvania. When she graduates from the rigorous six-year program, she will have a Doctorate in Physical Therapy.

 

This degree will allow me to help those who are going through the same thing I did,” she said. “In my future, I want help kids who need physical therapy. My life goal is to be a role model and show others that nothing can stop you.”

While in high school, Rachel excelled on and off the field. She graduated with a strong academic record and served as the captain of her high school’s lacrosse and cross-country teams.

In addition to being named Most Courageous Athlete and Most Courageous Runner, Rachel made the Athletic Director’s All-Academic Team and All-Scholastic Team.

Rachel also focused much of her energy on community service. She participated in mission trips, volunteered in soup kitchens, and did volunteer work at the Ephrata Community Hospital and Schreiber Pediatric Rehab Center.

My burn injury has shaped me in many ways,” Rachel said. “I believe I am a better person today because of it. This journey has taught me so much. I also believe that I am a more caring person because of my burn injury. So many people helped care for me; I have confidence that it’s my job to do the same.”

Rachel is grateful for the support of her family and friends. She is looking forward to a career that will allow her to provide her own unique perspective to patients going through physical therapy.

Story contributed  with permission by AlloSource, one of the nation’s largest non-profit providers of skin, bone, and soft tissue allografts for use in surgical procedures and the world’s largest processor of cellular bone allografts.  AlloSource has pledged a 10-year gift to support Phoenix Society’s Phoenix Education Grant program for burn survivor students pursuing their post-secondary education.  AlloSource blog: http://www.allograftpossibilities.org

 

Leave a Reply

